Book Summary: The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A Fuck.

An Open Book

In this article, I am going to present the summary of “The subtle Art of Not Giving A Fuck”.

A writer is someone who pays attention to the world and this has been revised by Mark Manson, a superstar blogger, and author, as he pens down to this volume.

Mark Manson successfully grabs the attention of his target audience till the end by appropriate use of sturdy language, the harsh truth of living, and some sort of narrative stories. Manson’s style of writing has a tinge of man-to-man chatting that bonds him with his readers to a great extent.

Through this self-development book, the author wants to bring into notice, small but important activities that we take casually into our day-to-day life. This is something that insists we not give a fuck about each and everything that happens around us. This book preaches us how to make decisions wisely through all nine chapters.

Let’s start the book summary of ‘The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A Fuck‘ chapter-wise.

Book Summary of The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A Fuck

AuthorMark Manson

First Chapter

In the very first chapter, the author tries to convey the idea that the pitch to a perpetual life is not in giving a fuck for ample of things, it’s for something slighter that is veracious, prompt, and prime. We should never try to be anything other than what we are.

Here the writer also puts some light on the concept of ‘THE BACKWARD LAW’ that says the desire for a more positive experience is itself a negative experience. And paradoxically, the acceptance of one’s negative experience is itself a positive approach.

Second Chapter

The second chapter depicts that the problems never fucking go away-they just improve. The secret sauce is in solving problems and by solving them we get happiness. Happiness is a form of action and is a constant work-in-progress because solving problems is a constant work-in-progress.

In this scenario, the author remarks that emotions are overrated and are simply biological signals designed to nudge us in the direction of beneficial change. Negative emotions are a call to action and we should always remember that ‘EMOTIONS NEVER LAST’.

Third Chapter

In the next section of the book, the idea is a true and accurate measurement of one’s self-worth is how people feel about the negative aspects of themselves.

To become truly great at something, we have to dedicate shit-tons of time and energy. Exceptionalism is the new normal and obsession with improvement stems from an unerring belief that they are not great at all.

Fourth Chapter

The following chapter holds the value of suffering that it is inevitable if our problems in life are unavoidable. This can be understood by three layers of self-awareness- simple understanding of one’s emotions, ability to ask why we feel certain emotions, and personal values.

There are points in life where we came across some shitty values but it completely depends on us how we prioritize them in such a way that it influences our decision making.

Fifth Chapter

The upcoming portion confesses that we are always choosing whether we consciously recognize it or not. We are always responsible for our experiences all the time in our life, no matter what the external circumstances are. This is part of life.

Further, Manson says that there is no “HOW” i.e. ‘Do, or do not; there is no how’. Simple things are really, really hard. Before quitting for something we should always ask ourselves why should we really give this up or if I was supposed to give up then what forced me to start this earlier?

Sixth Chapter

In the succeeding chapter, the author uses a humorous tone by putting down his belief that we are wrong about everything. Isn’t this sound a little awkward?

Well, he explains that certainty is the enemy of growth. Instead of striving for certainty, we should be in constant search of doubt: doubt about our own beliefs, doubt about our own feelings, doubt about what the future may hold for us unless we get out there and create it for ourselves.

Seventh Chapter

In the seventh chapter, the narrator brings into light the failure/success paradox and explains that pain is part of the process and to deny pain is to deny our own potential. We should learn to sustain the pain we’ve chosen. We should relish it, savor it.

If we are stuck on a problem, we should not sit there and think about it; we should just start working on it. Even if we don’t know what we’re doing, the simple act of working on it will eventually cause the right ideas to show up in our heads.

Eighth Chapter

In the next section, the author wants us to learn the importance of saying NO. Rejection is an inherent and necessary part of maintaining our values, and therefore our identity. Along this way, we should also set boundaries for ourselves as well as for others.

People with strong boundaries are not afraid of a temper tantrum, an argument, or getting hurt. We should also understand freedom through commitment. Commitment allows us to focus intently on a few highly important goals and achieve a greater degree of success than we otherwise would.

Ninth Chapter

In the last scene, the author focuses on death. According to him, death is the light by which the shadow of all of life’s meaning is measured. All the meaning in our life is shaped by the innate desire to never truly die.

We should also draw our attention to the sunny side of death. The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.

Finally, the summary of the book ‘The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A Fuck’ is completed. I hope it will add some value to your life.


Not giving a fuck does not mean being indifferent; it means being comfortable with being different. Whether we realize it or not, we are always choosing what to give a fuck about.

It is absolutely worthy book that teaches us many hidden perspectives of life. The books beautifully elaborate on the meaning of attitude and the difference between attitude and positive attitude. You should not put down it.

There is a reason for the immense fame of this book. This book not only teaches us to live life practically but also insists us to live life to the fullest with a positive attitude.

The author quotes a sentence, ‘I used to think the human brain was the most wonderful organ in my body but suddenly I realized who was telling me!’ The human mind is a jumble of inaccuracy. Therefore we should trust ourselves less.

Also, check out-

Leave a Comment


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *